Moran, Davenport score LOLMDS wins at West Virginia

Devin Moran and Jonathan Davenport won big over the weekend in Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series action at West Virginia Motor Speedway in Mineral Wells, West Virginia.

Moran scored the victory on Friday night at the 5/8-mile facility, while Davenport pocketed a $50,000 payday with the win on Saturday night.

On Friday, Devin Moran regained the lead from Jonathan Davenport on lap 24 to score the win in the first appearance by the series since 2013 at West Virginia Motor Speedway.

Both Moran and Davenport each led 15 laps during the 30-lap, caution free main event. Gregg Satterlee came home in third, followed by Ricky Thornton, Jr. in fourth, and Earl Pearson, Jr. in fifth.

Moran bolted to the lead at the start of the race with Davenport in tow. Moran led until Davenport passed him on lap 10 for the race lead. Davenport extended his lead and looked to be on his way to his fourth straight win at WVMS, but Moran caught the three-time series champion in heavy traffic passing him on the inside on lap 24.

In Lucas Oil Victory Lane for the fourth time this season and the sixth time in his career, Moran made the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series return to WVMS a memorable one for the packed hillside.

“Obviously, JD’s got his stuff rolling,” said Moran after scoring his fourth series win of the season and the sixth of his career. “His car is really good. I’ve got a lot of work to do to beat him tomorrow. Wylie (Moran) said before the race that lapped traffic was going to be important; I was hoping we would be leading at that point. He was trying to make a move around those guys and just messed up. I was able to slide underneath of him.”

On Saturday night, Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Georgia led from start-to-finish to pick up his first series win of the year, collecting $50,000 for the victory.

Starting alongside Davenport on the front row, Evans, Georgia’s Brandon Overton finished in second, followed by Earl Pearson, Jr. in third, Gregg Satterlee in fourth, and Devin Moran in fifth.

“It’s huge for sure. It’s great for me, my team, my owners, and for my sponsors,” said Davenport. “It will make the ride home a little easier tonight. We have had a great car the last two months. My guys have worked hard, and we have been trying stuff. They hit on something just about wherever we go, whether it’s been a big track or a little bullring.”

For more information on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, visit

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
West Virginia Motor Speedway – Mineral Wells, WV
Race Results – June 3, 2022

1. 9-Devin Moran
2. 49-Jonathan Davenport
3. 22-Gregg Satterlee
4. 20RT-Ricky Thornton, Jr.
5. 46-Earl Pearson, Jr.
6. 8-Kyle Strickler
7. 1-Brandon Sheppard
8. 1T-Tyler Erb
9. 39-Tim McCreadie
10. 71-Hudson O’Neal
11. 76-Brandon Overton
12. 11-Spencer Hughes
13. 58-Garrett Alberson
14. 89-Ashton Winger
15. 7-Ross Robinson
16. 71R-Rod Conley
17. 18D-Daulton Wilson
18. 0K-Freddie Carpenter
19. 0-Edward Shuman
20. 12D-Doug Drown
21. 12-Ryan Montgomery
22. 119-Bryan Bernheisel
23. 113-Brandon Francis
24. 157-Mike Marlar

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
West Virginia Motor Speedway – Mineral Wells, WV
Race Results – June 4, 2022

1. 49-Jonathan Davenport
2. 76-Brandon Overton
3. 46-Earl Pearson, Jr.
4. 22-Gregg Satterlee
5. 9-Devin Moran
6. 20RT-Ricky Thornton, Jr.
7. 39-Tim McCreadie
8. 157-Mike Marlar
9. 1T-Tyler Erb
10. 11-Spencer Hughes
11. 7-Ross Robinson
12. 18D-Daulton Wilson
13. 71R-Rod Conley
14. 1-Brandon Sheppard
15. 71C-R.J. Conley
16. 119-Bryan Bernheisel
17. 89-Ashton Winger
18. 71-Hudson O’Neal
19. 34C-Pete Crum
20. 58-Garrett Alberson
21. 12D-Doug Drown
22. 15-Justin Duty
23. 0K-Freddie Carpenter
24. 22*-G.R. Smith
25. 8-Kyle Strickler

Source link

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply